Cheap Holiday Decor Ideas

Well, it is now almost a week after Thanksgiving and in my world that means it is time to decorate for Christmas, listen to Christmas music, and to bake. After what I ate over Thanksgiving weekend, I decided my waistline might appreciate a bit of a break, so I’ve started with the task of decorating. This is my husband’s and my first Christmas as a married couple and our first Christmas sharing a home, so I wanted to make it our home look extra festive. But, in addition to this past year being an incredibly special one (considering we got married), it was also an expensive year (considering we got married). So I set out to making my little winter wonderland on the cheap. I decided to post about some of the arts and crafts projects I did yesterday in hopes that it might inspire some of you for decorating your home or for decorating for your wedding!

As I was helping my mom get Christmas decorations out of my parents’ attic, we pulled out a large box that was full of round ornaments. While I noticed that some were broken and some were intact, what I really noticed was how many there were! My mom asked if I wanted them. Although I didn’t know what I was going to do with THAT many ornaments (I didn’t even know if I was going to get a tree), I replied, “Why not?” So when I got home I went to work on what to do…

I first organized them, throwing out the seriously broken ones, putting the slightly broken ones in one pile, and putting the fully intact ones in one pile.

There ended up being quite a few that had their top missing, so they were useless as tree ornaments.

But, worked fabulously to make some of my glass bowls more festive.

Then, I still had more ornaments than I could possibly use on our potential tree.

I love the way decorated garland looks when it is draped over ledges or larger light fixtures, but it can also get expensive to get the “nice stuff.” So, I decided to use some of the ornaments to dress up the bathrooms. All it took was a piece of ribbon, an ornament, and a couple of strong knots.

Now, not everyone has a mom with 20 billion glass ornaments in her attic, but fortunately, these types of things can be purchased really easily and for not very much. I’ve even seen them at CVS and Rite Aid for a couple bucks a set. What’s even better is that they come in so many colors, including blue and silver, which would make some fabulous Hanukah decorations.

I think that bowls filled with multi-colored ornaments would make really cute, festive, and inexpensive center pieces at a wedding or other event. Hanging ornaments by ribbon in front of windows or in the bathrooms would be a great way to dress them up too! You could even ask family and friends to let you borrow a few of their favorite ornaments for your wedding day.

Do you have any decorating trips for newlyweds or people getting married around the holidays? Share them here!

2 thoughts on “Cheap Holiday Decor Ideas

  1. I had cinnamon sticks left over from baking last year. Since they are a year old they won’t work great for baking this year. But I hated throwing them away, so instead I tied several of them together with red string and added a small holly berry branch. I have these bunches scattered over my kitchen table! They could be cute at each guest’s seat…???

  2. Pingback: Friday’s Photo: Christmas Inspiration Board «

Leave a comment